Executive Members

The International Society of DNA Vaccines was founded in 2004 by highly experienced individuals with entrepreneurial as well as big pharma experience across many facets of the academic, biotech and pharmaceutical industries.

David Weiner

David Weiner

Dr. David B. Weiner is a world-renowned leader in immunology as well as gene vaccines and therapy. As a pioneer in the field of DNA vaccines, he has over 300 peer-reviewed publications in scientific journals to his credit, including publication in mainstream scientific journals such as Scientific American, and has been noted by the Institute for Scientific Information as one of the top cited scientists in the world. He was also the editor of several published works including: Biologically active Peptides: Design, Synthesis and Utilization, by David B. Weiner and William V. Willams; Vaccine Special Issue: DNA Vaccine Meeting 2010, DNA Vaccines - Vaccine Special Volume 2006; DNA Vaccines: Research Frontiers and Clinical Applications, Vaccine Special Volume 2004; and Expert Review of Vaccines: AIDS Vaccines, August 2004, among others.

Dr. Weiner serves and has served as an advisor to and collaborator with leading companies such as Pfizer (Wyeth), 3M, J&J (Centocor), GSK, and Inovio. He played a key role in the start-up of biotechnology companies such as VGX Pharmaceuticals (currently Inovio Pharmaceuticals), Apollon (one of the world's first DNA vaccine companies), Synbiotics, Immune Pharmaceutics, Verigen, and Symphony Pharmaceutics. He is a special employee and advisor for FDA/CBER and the NIH-NIAID-DAIDS Grant Review process.

Dr. Weiner earned his Bachelor’s degree in Biology from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. He holds a Master’s and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Developmental Biology/Immunology from the University of Cincinnati. Dr. Weiner completed his Post-Doctoral Fellowship in the Department of Pathology at the University of Pennsylvania in 1989.
Joseph Kim

Joseph Kim

Dr. J. Joseph Kim has served as President and CEO of Inovio Pharmaceuticals, a company dedicated to the creation of DNA vaccines and immunotherapeutics, since June 2009. Dr. Kim co-founded VGX Pharmaceuticals, a synthetic vaccine company in 2000 to develop intellectual property related to immunotherapeutics licensed from the University of Pennsylvania. He led that company for nine years and combined VGX with Inovio Biomedical in 2009 to form Inovio Pharmaceuticals. Previously, Dr. Kim was a senior vaccine developer at Merck & Co. where he successfully led efforts in manufacturing and process development for several FDA-approved products and developmental therapeutics. These new products include FDA-approved vaccines for hepatitis as well as developmental vaccines and therapeutics for HIV/AIDS.  In 2013, Dr. Kim was appointed to the International Vaccine Institute (IVI) Board of Trustees to oversee the governance and management of the institute.

Dr. Kim earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering and Economics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where he was a U.S. Senate Honors Scholar. He holds a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Biochemical Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania and a Master of Business Administration degree in Finance from the Wharton School. Dr. Kim has published more than 100 peer-reviewed scientific papers, holds numerous patents and sits on several editorial boards and review panels.

Stanley Plotkin

Stanley Plotkin

Dr. Stanley Plotkin developed the rubella vaccine now used worldwide and has worked extensively on the development and application of other vaccines including polio, rabies, varicella, rotavirus and cytomegalovirus. He is Emeritus Professor, Wistar Institute and the University of Pennsylvania, a principal of Vaxconsult, and Scientific Advisor to Inovio Pharmaceuticals

Over the course of his career he has served as senior assistant surgeon with the Epidemic Intelligence Service of the U.S. Public Health Service; Chairman of the Infectious Diseases Committee and the AIDS Task Force of the American Academy of Pediatrics; Chairman of the Microbiology and Infectious Diseases Research Committee of the National Institutes of Health; director of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; associate chairman of the Department of Pediatrics, University of Pennsylvania; medical and scientific director of Aventis Pasteur; and executive advisor to Sanofi Pasteur. Over 600 of his articles have been published, and he has edited several books including Vaccines, now the standard textbook in the field.

Dr. Plotkin's numerous professional awards include:

  • The medal of the Fondation Mérieux (2007);
  • The Fleming (Bristol) Award of the Infectious Diseases Society of America (2004);
  • The Sabin Foundation Medal (2002);
  • The French Legion Medal of Honor (1998);
  • The Clinical Virology Award, Pan American Group for Rapid Viral Diagnosis (1995);
  • The Distinguished Physician Award, Pediatric Infectious Disease Society (1993); and,
  • The Bruce Medal of the American College of Physicians (1987).

Dr. Plotkin earned his M.D. at the State University of New York, Downstate College of Medicine and holds honorary degrees from the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Rouen (France). He serves on the Board of Directors of Dynavax and is Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board of Mymetics as well as serving as an International Society for Vaccines advisor.